Chinese Culture Trip–you and I

This is the excerpt for your very first post.

Hello,everyone.I’m very happy you enjoy reading this blog.

大家好,非常开心你来看这篇文字。

I am a volunteer Chinese language to American by Hanban. I have been here less than two months . I will teach Chinese in the  Westside elementary school for a year.

我是一名汉办派往美国的汉语志愿者老师。我来这里快两个月了。我将会在西边小学教一年的汉语。

mmexport1475967066638
The new teachers

My major is teaching Chinese as a second language. Now I’m pursuing my master degree in Nanjing University. I spent half a year teaching Chinese in a middle school, which was just wonderful for my teaching experience.

我的专业是汉语国际教育。现在正在南京大学攻读硕士学位。曾经在一所中学教过半年汉语,这极大丰富了我的教学经验。

In fact, This is my first time to teach American kids Chinese.Frankly, if I say I don’t  to feel nervous ,it must be untrue. Looking forward for the first class has been mixed with anxiousness, it come as expected.

事实上,这是我第一次教美国小孩子汉语。坦白讲,如果说一点都不紧张,它一定是假的。期待参杂着担忧,第一次课终于如期而至。

img_20160922_105928
Children are listening attentively.

It is just a normal start with my introduction with my partner.”Where are I from;What’s  your hometown famous for:How many people are in my family.” My hometown is famous for the Yellow River, Shaolin Temple,and Longmen Grottoes, which with its unique historical charm and strong cultural contents, which kindle the curiosity of children.Then we taught children the most common greeting–“nihao”(Hello).To my surprise, the kids’ pronunciation of “nihao” is so accurate and authentic. Two weeks latter,all school students have learnt “nihao” from Chinese class.I’m very glad to hear the morning greeting “nihao” instead of “Hello or Good morning”from kids.I enjoy the hugs that children give me.I’m happy that I and students have already made a good start.You know,before that, the children thought we were taught Japanese or Spanish and even greeted us with “こんにちは” or“hola”.

这节课以最平常的自我介绍开始。我和我的小伙伴一起上课。“我来自哪里;我的家乡有什么;我家有几口人。”我的家乡以黄河,少林寺,龙门石窟等闻名四方。家乡浓厚的历史文化底蕴点燃了孩子们好奇的心灵。然后,我们教汉字在中国最通常的问候—“你好”。令我惊讶的是,孩子们的发音非常准确和地道。在清晨,我可以欣喜地听到孩子们使用汉语的问候,“你好”而不是英语的“Hello”或者是“Good morning”,也很享受孩子给我的拥抱。我很开心我和学生们有了一个好的开始。你或许不知道,在此之前,孩子们认为我们是教日语或者西班牙语的,他们甚至用日语或者西班牙语的你好和我们打招呼。

img_20160829_155515
Chinese classroom

The first festival is Mid-autumn festival in the Strong Land, which is a traditional Chinese holiday.We want to share this festival culture with kids.I believe that cultural activities can open the children’s eyes to new world.Given that the children of the  first grade and the second grade is so young.We decided to teach the lesson only for the fourth and the fifth grade.We try to let the children draw some pictures for the moon festival based on the clues.Such as “Ten suns rose to the sky at the same time”;”As soon as Cheng-E drank the elixir, she flew out the window ascending towards the moon”.But after class, we found it’s difficult for children to draw some pictures for it.So in the next class, we printed some sketch for children to color.

来到异乡的第一个节日是中秋节,一个非常传统的中国节日。我们想要与孩子们分享这里的节日文化。因为我坚信,文化的多元可以开阔人的眼界。考虑到一二三年纪孩子的幼小,我们决定只针对四五年级的孩子开展这堂文化体验课。在丰富的图片展示和讲解过后,我们试着让孩子们根据故事的线索为节日作画。比如说“十个太阳同时升起”“嫦娥吞掉仙药后,立刻飞向月亮。”但是一节课后我们发现,为节日作画对孩子而言太难了。于是下一节课,我们打印了一系列的图片,供孩子们涂色。

1961679921
color some Moon Festival drawings

Finally,we collected the works of the children and put them on the wall.Now they are still on the hallway’s wall,telling  the legend of Mid-autumn Festival.

最终,我们把孩子们的作品都收上来整理粘贴在了过道的墙上。现在它们还在墙上,讲述着中秋的传奇。

 

Leave a Reply

